The adult book club for the Alpine Branch of the Lincoln County Library system has been in operation since 2009. We meet the first Thursday of each month at 6:30pm in the community room of the Alpine Branch library. All are welcome!

 

Lincoln County Library System - Alpine Branch

 

Our current book (December 7):

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson. An intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

 

If you so desire, bring holiday goodies to share!

Print Print | Sitemap
© ~DKBB~ Web Sites & More